United Airlines: Domination in the Sky

United Airlines was founded on April 6, 1926 in Boise, Idaho. The original name is Varney Airlines. Its airport lounge is called Red Carpet Club and it is a member of the Star Alliance. It offers flights to 216 destinations worldwide and its parent company is United Continental Holdings. It is based in Chicago, Illinois.

Fleet size

United Airlines operates 359 aircraft. 97 of them are Airbus A320s and 96 are Boeing 757-200s. The US airline also has 55 Airbus A319s and 35 Boeing 767-300ERs. There are 33 Boeing 777-200ERs and 24 Boeing 747-400s along with 19 Boeing 777-200s.


United operates from six major hubs – Chicago Hare International Airport, San Francisco Airport, Washington Dulles Airport, Los Angeles Airport, Denver Airport, and Narita International Airport in Tokyo.

United Airlines plans to add more airports to its hub list in the future. They can be listed below:

Newark Liberty International Airport
Cleveland Hopkins International Airport
George W. Bush Intercontinental Airport
Antonio B. Von Pat International Airport


United Airlines offers flights to Accra and Lagos, Africa. In the Caribbean, its flights may depart from cities such as Oranjestad, Montego Bay, Grand Cayman, San Juan and Punta Cana. In Central and North America, its flights depart for Liberia, Cancun and Calgary, with the exception of several destinations in the United States.

In southern America, this US carrier provides flights to Buenos Aires, Lima and Rio di Janeiro, among others. Asia, Beijing, Taipei, Osaka, Singapore and Seoul have major airports. The most important European destinations for United Airlines are Brussels, Rome, Paris, Amsterdam and Frankfurt. Melbourne and Guam are major locations in the Oceans.

Frequent flight program

Mileage Plus is a program for frequent United Airlines aircraft. The main advantage of the program is that the recipients receive endless mileage. However, for this to be effective, the flyer must either redeem or earn travel miles every eighteen months.

The organization also provides elite membership. This provides more benefits than standard membership. This facility was created in 2010 and is only available to members who have the status of Prime Minister, 1K, and Prime Minister.

These members can also receive endless updates on domestic flights. However, these facilities are provided only if there is sufficient space in the flights.

Code sharing agreements

United Airlines has Codesharing agreements with a number of airlines:

Aer Lingus
Hawaiian Airlines
Island air
Jet Airways
Ethiopian Airlines
Qatar airways
Aviation of the Great Lakes
TACA Airlines
Gulfstream International Airlines